Our Seven Principles

Seven Principles Affirm and Guide Our Spiritual Paths

Sources:  https://uucj.org/who-we-are/   

The Seven Principles are below and they are also listed on the back of the Standard Order of service handed out during services.  

While we do not ascribe to a particular creed or dogma, we do make a set of promises to each other, and we are thus a covenantal faith. These promises, known as the Seven Principles, are what guide our living faith and inform our behaviors throughout our lives.  They define us as Unitarian Universalists:

  1. The Inherent worth and dignity of every person.
  2. Justice, equity and compassion in human relations.
  3. Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations.
  4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning.
  5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large.
  6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all.
  7. Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.

These principles guide our actions.  See Our Seven Principles in Action in the Additional Information section for examples of what types of activities UU’s are involved in.